Photo

a1c=12 (ugh) (To Insulin or not to Insulin)

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

Jinx13

Jinx13

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
My GP jumped all over me. He wanted me on insulin today. I argued that I went from 7.7 to 12 in the span of 6 months and that I thought it must be the change in meds (+Vytorin) or something related. I asked him to exhaust all medications before moving to insulin. He added 2mg of Amaryl and 30mg of Actos to my 850mg of metformin x 3 and asked me to come back in a week. If I wasn't under control by then, he wanted me on insulin.

I'm no rocket scientist, but I don't see how I'm going to be under control in a week on these meds. I think he's just playing me.

Further, I am really confused about the change in a1c. I've been DMII for 17 years and have maintained pretty well until this past few months. Does there come a time when the disease progresses to this on its own?

And should I watch for any side effects on these meds?

• Members
  • 286 posts
Why are you fighting insulin. I know, it is a different thing to deal with and does have its dangers(hypo's). But, it will take a load off your syetem right now. You can back off if things work out. Time is not on your side here. Do what is best for your system, not what's good for you daily convience. Insulin is as natural as you can get.

Can you progress real fast. Certainly it has happened. Usually in response to some trama or just plain old poor control. Look at insulin for what it is and what it does and you will see that it is not your enemy or something that will harm your body, if done correctly.
  • Scotty13 likes this

Funnygrl

Funnygrl

• Seniors
  • 6,763 posts
An A1c of 12 is dangerous. You are killing off vital organs. You must feel like crap.

I would definitely agree with your GP that you should be on insulin immediately.