• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

kimfly

kimfly

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
I am taking Metformin and Amaryl.

I heard that Metformin was only to be taken at night as it deals mainly with kidneys. Is this true?

Can the two be taken together?

Teresa

Teresa

• 500 plus
  • 338 posts
i dont know anything about Amaryl at all (infact ive not heard of it) but i take metformin...

i take it 3 times a day, breakfast, dinner and evening meal... ive never heard of taking it at night, infact i was told to always take it with food... but im no expert so i dunno!

Claire

Claire

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
I take metformin twice a day, breakfast and evening meal. I was told to take it with meals it also says on the packet it comes in, Take this medicine with or after food. I have never heard of it to be taken at night.

Same here, I dont take Amaryl and have never heard of it. So I dont know if they can be taken together.

Ashtur

Ashtur

• 500 plus
  • 197 posts
This is a page I've found interesting

https://diabetesmana...m_ClinGuide.pdf

If you notice, it says that one of the "standard" combos is Metformin and an insulin secratouge... and that's what Amaryl is (it's one of the newer sulfa drugs). So this one is pretty much SOP.

Betsy

Betsy

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Dear kimfly
I think metformin can also be taken twice a day. There is some good information is available on this page. There is a link about the middle of the page which reads More details on diabetic drugs. This link contains information about diabetic drugs. Hope this will help
http://www.medicineworld.org/medicine/endocrinology/type2diabetes.html

Regards,
Betsy

Scion

Scion

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hey Kimfly, For the last two months, I've taken metformin and Amaryl together, metformin at breakfast and dinner, Amaryl at breakfast. I've had no problems or side effects taking both at the same time.

srgw

srgw

• 500 plus
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts