History of humalog plus lantus

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

DanG

DanG

• 500 plus
  • 962 posts
Humalog is made by Eli Lilly, and Lantus is made by Sanofi Aventis.

Some questions about this situation:

Question 1: How did the MD come up with a diabetes management scheme using two different insulins from two different manufacturers?

Question 2: How old is this management scheme been used? How long have you been using humalog/lantus, or the novo nordisk products? That is, how long have these products been on the market for diabetics?

I used lente U-100 for 30 years (lente seemed to work fine, until the manufacturer cancelled production - bad move in my mind). I have been using the humalog/lantus scheme for the past 3 years. I found diabetesforums not too long ago, so I am sometimes congering up a few oddball questions.

Thanks for any input. I am sure some here have researched these type questions before, or have handy information summarizing the answers.

Guest_murphysl_*

Guest_murphysl_*
  • Guests
Hopefully, someone can answer your questions better than I can, but I thought the following related information might be of some interest to you.

For questions about why we have newer insulins replacing older ones, like the Lente that worked well for you for 30 years (32 years for me), I would recommend a book called "Too Profitable to Cure" by Brent Hoadley, a Type 1 for 50+ years. I, too, think discontinuing Lente (and Ultra Lente) was a big mistake, not just for us, but for some guardians of diabetic dogs and cats who were not able to regulate their pets on any other insulin (see the links to another forum regarding this below). I now import my insulin from another country because neither Lantus nor Humulin N works well for me.

Lilly Humulin L - Visitor Opinion Post

Humulin U - Visitor Opinion Post

Humulin L Discontinued - Visitor Opinion Post

Discontinuing Humulin-U And Humulin-L Is Killing My Dog - Visitor Opinion Post