mg/dl vs mmol/l

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

Olidus

Olidus

• Seniors
  • 541 posts
I am new to Diabetes and new to this forum.
Still learning all the lingo and what not.

I have noticed that alot of you talk mg/dl when it comes to readings? Since I have been diagnosed I have been taught to take my readings in mmol/l and pass that information along.

Is this another US thing? And Canadians use mmol/l?
Can anyone offer some insight as to what is the standard?
I know it all comes down to oranges and apples but want to make sure I am on the page as everyone else.

Thanks in advance

Mark K~
Mark K~
Type 1
Dx June 21st 2007

HbA1c
-June 22, 07 - 12.8 - _ -Jan 23, 09- 5.8 - _ - _ - May 16, 2011 - 7.8
-Sep 27, 07 - 6.6- _ - _ -Aug 4, 09 - 6.2 - _ - _ - Nov 2, 2011 - 7.4
-Jan 3, 08 - 6.0 - _ - _ - Nov 3, 09 - 6.5
-April 16, 08 - 6.1 - _ -_Mar 8, 10 - 6.8
-July 21, 08 - 5.5 - _ - _ July 23, 10 - 6.8
-Oct 8, 08 - 6.1 - _ - _ - Nov 29, 10 - 6.9

MDI - NovaRapid & Levemir

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Diabetes is for the intelligent and disciplined."

HelenM

HelenM

• Seniors
  • 1,029 posts
Some countries use one system and others the other, ( most but not all of the Commonwealth and ex Commonwealth countries use mml) . I've know idea why. list @ FAQ Unit of measure - Abbott Diabetes Care (MediSense Products)

PS I live in France which uses mg/l and throw my doctor when I forget and say 126 rather than 1.26

JediSkipdogg

JediSkipdogg

• Seniors
  • 8,779 posts
  • I am a:Type 1
And just an FYI....to get from one to the other just multiply/divide by 18. It's technically not an exact 18, but that number works for the most part unless you convert like 30 mmol to mg/dl then you may be off 1 mg/dl which is minor.

●Police Dispatcher
●Type 1 diabetic since 11 months old
●Pumper since December of 2002
~Animas IR 1000 (Dec. 2002 - Jan. 2005)
~Animas IR 1200 (Jan. 2005 - Jan. 2009)
~Cozmo 1800 (Jan. 2009 - ?)
●Dexcom Seven+ (Aug 1, 2009 - Oct 31, 2012)