Diabetic headaches?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Debbie Sue

Debbie Sue

• Seniors
  • 658 posts
Good morning all! I have yet another question and this time it's about headaches. I have been experiencing headaches on and off all day for several weeks, especially on the right side of my head around my ear. I went to my primary this past Monday and she said it 'might' be temporal arteritis. I don't have all symptoms, but I am very concerned. She put me on 2 sample sized bottles of Veramyst to see if this might help just in case it's a sinus thing. I'm supposed to use them up then call her with the results. It worked fine the first day, but my headaches are back and aceto isn't really doing anything to quell them.

I know I'm a newbie at this, but is there something I missed? I mean is there something diabetes related with these headaches that is a common thing?
Please bare with me... I am struggling over here.

princesslinda

princesslinda

Super Moderator

• Moderators
  • 16,059 posts
  • LocationKnoxville, TN
  • I am a:Type 2
Headaches can be caused by so many different things, its hard to pinpoint the cause. I have a headache at some point most days, but I sit at a desk typing on a computer keyboard 12 hrs a day, so I figure that's a contributing factor.

Headaches can also be a symptom of cervical problems, side effects of meds (such as metformin), sinus problems, eye strain, tension/stress, low or high blood sugars (i've had them with both) or high blood pressure.

T2, diagnosed 8/31/06.
Meds: Metformin-ER 500 mg twice daily, HCTZ 12.5 mg every other day for BP Enalapril 20 mg 1 daily (ace-inhibitor)
Diet: I eat to my meter, generally eating 75-100 carbs/day with the occasional splurge.

fgummett

fgummett

• Seniors
  • 7,916 posts
I also get headaches related to BS levels... usually low... and they do tend to be localised rather than all over... so it may be another sign of your body readjusting to more normal BS levels. :)