Photo

who never use alcohol before injection ?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

knight191

knight191

• 500 plus
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
I'm inconvenience to use alcohol to clean my skin before injection. I'd like to know who never use alcohol and is there any infect?

I'm thin but before shot I think I pull my skin enough. Why I found a little bleeding after injection?

Thanks
2006 Dx T2
2008 A1C = 11% and Dx T1
2009 A1C = 5.5% :)
Insulin: Humalog + Lantus

Cormac_Doyle

Cormac_Doyle

• 500 plus
  • 1,390 posts
  • LocationIreland (For Now)
  • I am a:Type 1
I've been injecting insulin since September 1999 ... and I have *never* used alcohol wipes or similar.

I've also never had any infections.

Obviously, you have to make sure your hands are clean, the skin is clean and the needle is clean ... but assuming you shower regularly and you aren't actually rolling in mud or dripping sweat, you don't need to take any special steps to clean the injection site.

HbA1c
2007/2008 - Sept 07: 10.9; Feb 08: 8.5; Sept 08: 7.3;
2009 - Feb: 7.5; Apr: 6.4; Aug: 6.1;
2010 - Jan: 7.0; Mar: 6.4; Jun: 6.1; Oct: 5.9;
2011 - Jan: 6.4; Apr: 6.5; Aug: 6.3; Nov: 6.2;
2012 - Mar: 6.7; May: 6.3; June: 6.2; Sep: 5.4; Dec: 6.0;
2013 - Mar: 6.1; May: 6.5; July: 6.3; Nov: 6.1;
2014 - Apr: 6.3;

Meds - Glucophage: 2000mg; Omega 3: 4000mg; Crestor: 20mg; Victoza: 1.8mg; Humulin: 150-250 iu ( originally 1800-2400 iu daily)

Started Pump: 10th April 2011 - Minimed Paradigm Veo

Gordonm

Gordonm

• 500 plus
  • 1,512 posts
I never used it for 33 years and never had a problem. On the pump now so I do not use injections.
Type 1 since 4/74
Pump user since 10/17/06!
MM 523 pump
Bike miles
2013 3196
2014 2151 miles

NoraWI

NoraWI

• 500 plus
  • 1,734 posts
  • LocationSW Wisconsin