Photo

How do you carry insulin pens for a trip ?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

caley43

caley43

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I am going on a cruise the end of May and am looking for a good way to carry extra insulin pens that need refrigeration. I took Humalog and Lantus on a trip to New Mexico. They traveled well in a small insulated ice bag for 10 hours, but when we took a short hour trip the insulin in the Humalog froze; I guess an ice pack fell on it. I have been looking at various sites that sell travel kits and was wondering which one is going to be best for me.
I have enjoyed this forum but have just now figured out how to post. As you can probably tell I am new to using insulin.
Caley
caley
Humalog
Lantus Solostar
Metformin 1000 twice daily

SuzySushi

SuzySushi

• Members
  • 109 posts
(I think the message board just lost my reply ... sorry if this ends up being a double post.)

Get yourself a Frio pack from Frio [url=http://www.frious.com/]FRIO :: Home[/url] or Amazon.com

It activates with water and will keep insulin cold for up to 48 hours; you can re-soak it to keep the insulin cold longer. No problems with
airport security, either.

We traveled through Japan for 3 weeks with 2 small Frio packs. I can't say enough good thingss about them. Much easier than ice or gel-packs, and the insulin can't get cold enough to freeze.

ramlils

ramlils

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Try wrapping the ICE PACK in a towling material, and keeping it in a cooler bag.

ant hill

ant hill

Essentric Dancer

• Seniors
  • 7,846 posts
  • LocationHastings Melbourne Australia
  • I am a:Type 1
Would the pens be enough? what about the viles?

nz9q.jpg

Peter...

Tattoo azz

Tattoo azz

• Seniors
  • 1,991 posts