- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

sgtstevens1029

sgtstevens1029

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Ok so i am new to this and not sure what to do or where to post things. I am in the national guard and am supposed to be deploying soon but I have nowfound out that i might not be able to because of my rtype 2 diabetes. Does anyone know if there is a loop hole or something to get me through SRP? Anywhere that I can print out info to take with me that says soldiers with type 2 diabetes can deploy. I hope someone can help me. Thanks

TomB

TomB

• Members
  • 393 posts
Sorry Sarge, but I think you're SOL. You might be able to stay in the Guard by being in permanently not deployable status, depends on your CO and job function. Getting hit with the big D diagnosis is not easy to handle, but you have to think not only of your well being, but also of your grunts. They could have a rough time of it if you went big time hypo or hyperglycemic at precisely the wrong time.
I'm service connected for DMII, Agent Orange. I enjoyed my time in the Air Force. Got up to S/Sgt in special ops flying around in C-130 Talon's. In that job, diabetes is an automatic kick out. I hope that your unit will need and appreciate your service back here in the States.
Something that you need to do pronto: get copies of ALL your medical and service records and keep up-to-date copies of future records. Those records have a way of getting lost - for years.
Best to you and yours
Tom

Barberian

Barberian

• Seniors
  • 583 posts
I don't know about the National Guards rules. In the Navy I was able to depoy as long as I was diet controled or on oral meds. Insulin was a no go. I'm still on oral meds and diet controled (poorly).
Type 2 - Diagnosed 1998, A1c 9.3 Sept 2
Glipizide 5mg x 2 twice daily, Metphormin 1000mg twice daily,Gabapentin 400mg x3 3times daily
Valsartan 320mg daily, Amlodipine Besylate 10mg daily, Hydroxyzine Pamoate 50mg every 6hrs