Digestible carbs?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

pattikins13

pattikins13

• 500 plus
  • 118 posts
When counting carbs what do you count with things like Dreamfields macaroni,41 carbs per cup but only 5 digestible carbs? When putting it in food diary which number do i count?
Type 2
I mg. Glimperide daily
5/29-10 AIC 6.3
7-12-10- AIC 6.3

pattikins13

pattikins13

• 500 plus
  • 118 posts
I would really appreciate any comments. I'm new to this and have been reading non stop. I'm really confused about some things.
Type 2
I mg. Glimperide daily
5/29-10 AIC 6.3
7-12-10- AIC 6.3

fgummett

fgummett

• 500 plus
  • 7,916 posts
I have no direct experience of this kind of pasta myself but from reading here on DF it does seem that the level of "digestible carbs" can change depending on how they are cooked or re-heated.

My advice is to test your BGs around it to see how it works for you... not just once, but a few times and look for repeatable patterns, rather that making conclusions from a single test.

There are also many threads discussing this brand... http://www.diabetesf...rch/id/1168754/

Allan7935

Allan7935

• 500 plus
  • 148 posts
From the Dreamfields website:

"Q. Why do you say that Dreamfields Pasta only has 5 grams of digestible carbs when the nutrition label states that it has 41 grams of carbohydrates?

A. While the total number of carbohydrates is the same as traditional pasta, our patent-pending formula and unique manufacturing process protects all but 5 grams of carbohydrates from being digested. The Dreamfields fiber and protein blend creates a protective barrier to reduce starch digestion in the small intestine. The unabsorbed, or protected carbohydrates then pass to the colon where they are fermented, providing the same health benefits as fiber."

So, do you believe the hype? Is it too good to be true?

Maybe so, maybe not.

The previous posting says it all. Eat and test.

Allan
Dx Prediabetic 07/09 (PP 160)