- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

LifeisgoodLady

LifeisgoodLady

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I have been using generic Metformin for at least 10 yrs, twice daily. Recently, for the 3rd time, I noticed the same odor I had had twice before. It is not horrible, but is unpleasant to me, & seems to emanate from my entire body. The 1st time I called my gyn thinking it was a yeast infection & actually took several meds trying to squelch it, then it went away. The 2nd time, I happened to notice the same odor from the bottle containing the generic Metformin meds & determined it was from the Metformin and it was a different manuafacturer, which is what has occurred this 3rd time. I plan to alert my Walgreen's pharmacist the next time I buy my 2 month supply, and hope to never experience this again. No amount of bathing or perfumes make it go away for me. It is a sickening sweet odor. The only time it left was after a full body massage b/c the strong oils masked it for about 24 hrs. My daughter had a problem w/ Topamax b/c of a different manufacturer, so there definitely are differences in generics of the same med. If you have not had this problem, then the generic for Metformin that you are using is probably the reason. I hope to purchase my generics from the manufacturer of the ones that do not 'emanate' from me from now on, even if I have to go from pharmacy to pharmacy to do so. No family members have seemed to notice my different 'fragrance' & I hope it will be gone as soon as my current supply is gone.
Has anyone else noticed the sugary sweet odor?

princesslinda

princesslinda

Super Moderator

• Moderators
  • 15,593 posts
  • LocationKnoxville, TN
  • I am a:Type 2
Welcome Lifeisgoodlady!:wavey: We have a "life is good" man here on the forums as well! ;) It's a good mantra, for sure. ;)