Photo

Is needing insulin and taking it that bad? Help me on this thought....

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

SeaNile

SeaNile

• 500 plus
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts
  • LocationPA
  • I am a:Type 1.5
I'm brand new to this being diagnosed with Type 1 just 5 days ago. Here is my quick bio...38 M, active, in shape with recent weight loss and now at 170. So I go for a physical and find my BG was 334 which got me a very prompt appt with the endo. 10 of Lantus at night and a sliding scale of Humalog for now. Doc wants me to check BG just 3x a day, before my meals but I'm taking it more frequently (8x today). Anyway, here is what I am curious about. And yes my diet was pretty much all carbs before this.

So, is taking insulin that bad? My body needs it to digest food, gain energy and use up my glucose. I am beginning to feel like checking my #'s is like classical conditioning....if the number is good I am happy, and if the number is bad I feel a bit bummed. It's almost like I could have done better and need to "try" harder to get my # down.

Is it that big of a deal that I need insulin? I'm not looking for an excuse to "cover" a huge carb binge with insulin but should I feel so bad if my # is high and need insulin? And also, I feel better when I need little insulin vs. more.

Anyone else feel like this?

John

Dx 6/10/11

sumi

sumi

• 500 plus
  • 1,307 posts
Not at all, John. If you need it, there is no argument against it. As you have been diagnosed type 1, lacking insulin, you need it. I know what you mean about the number thing, it seems crazy to let a number dictate your feelings, but I bet it's pretty common.
Susan
DX Dec4/08 FBG 19(342)
Dec4 /08 A1C 10.9
Feb.4/09 A1C 7.6
may4 /09 A1C 5.2:D
Sept 4/09 A1C 5.4
Dec 7/09 A1C 5.2
2010 A1C average 5.4
2011 A1C average 5.5
Current meds: 1500mg metformin, 5 mg ramipril, Victoza
Low carb- started at < 50 , now can handle 100

Subby

Subby

• 500 plus
  • 10,158 posts