- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Cookie

Cookie

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
I know that there are people here who will know this!!

I've been asked at work to take my mini-bus test so that I can drive groups of kids about (I'm a Primary Teacher) but there is something in the back of my mind that I'm not allowed to drive one, due to my diabetes?

Is this correct?
Type 1 diabetic since 18 June 2003
:itsme::itsme::itsme:

Belinda

Belinda

• Seniors
  • 2,360 posts
I use to drive one but know they tequire a medical card to go with the license to drive so I am not sure if you can or not. Luckily enough I no longer work for the HeadStart program where teachers were required to obtain their CDL.
Posted Image Belinda

"- work as if you don't need money, - love as if you've never been hurt, -
dance, as if nobody can see you, - sing, as if no one can hear, - live, as
if the Earth was a heaven."

JediSkipdogg

JediSkipdogg

• Seniors
  • 8,782 posts
  • I am a:Type 1
They cannot prohibit you from getting the license based solely on being diabetic as that is grounds for a lawsuit on discrimination. However, they can make you prove that you are under total control by either having your doctor prove that you are or have you see a doctor of thier choice and have them look at your test results.

Middle Aged Man

Middle Aged Man

• Members
  • 322 posts

I know that there are people here who will know this!!

I've been asked at work to take my mini-bus test so that I can drive groups of kids about (I'm a Primary Teacher) but there is something in the back of my mind that I'm not allowed to drive one, due to my diabetes?

Is this correct?

You're in Scotland, so the laws may be different from those of us in the USA. Here it would be a function of what state laws apply to you. I understand that a type 1 diabetic cannot fly a plane in this state (Virginia), but that's about it.