Insulin Pumps Questions

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

makiro

makiro

• 500 plus
  • 918 posts
Here are a couple of good questions for those of you who use insulin pumps.

How reliable are they to you

Does your insurance cover the cost of the pump? If so what insurance do you have?

Does your insurance cover the cost of the pads? If so what insurance do you have?

How durable are they?

Will excessive sweating and rise in body temperature cause the pads to un-stick?

I know these are a lot of questions but I am curious about pumps, especially after being talked to about them. I know that there is a difference between what a doctor will say and what an actual owner will say about them.

Right now as some of you know, I am in school for Heating Ventilation Air Conditiong and Refrigeration. I am also a plumber and electrician. My main concerns are when I am working I will tend to sweat and will be working in the near future in the heat. I would hate to see the pads that deliver insulin to be coming off. Hopefully I can get my surgery by then to loose weight and see if I can stop taking medication for my diabetes and controlling it better with diet and exercise.

Thank you guys in advance for all replies :)

poodlebone

poodlebone

• 500 plus
  • 4,960 posts

For me, extremely reliable. I have not had any major issues with any of the three models of Minimed pumps I have used in the last 6 years.

Does your insurance cover the cost of the pump? If so what insurance do you have?

Does your insurance cover the cost of the pads? If so what insurance do you have?