181 - 250 6 Units
251 - 300 8 Units
301 - 350 10 Units
351 - 400 12 Units
>400 12 Units and call Dr

Now the doc has said to use this formula instead
(BGL-100) / 20

Using the formula,
BGL reading below 120 results in an outcome of less than 1 unit.
BGL reading of 140 results in an outcome of 2 units
BGL reading of 160 results in an outcome of 3 units and so on.

I'm new to this and am wondering how others are told to use this medication their specific for situation. Would you stick yourself for 1 or 2 units?

mom24grlz

mom24grlz

• Seniors
  • 732 posts
  • LocationOhio
  • I am a:Parent
i'm totally confused by your new method of figuring out insulin! I've never heard it done like this before. It's kind of like an insulin to carb ratio (which my daughter is on). But instead of using Carbs/ratio. You're doing BS/ratio. if my daughter had a result of .4 I'd do 1 unit of insulin.

Chris mom to 13 year old daughter with type 1 diabetes. Pumping animas ping

Joisey

Joisey

• Members
  • 351 posts
What it looks like to me is, he's helping you to determine the correction factor of your bolus. That's fine and should help with better control, but the other part of the bolus is to cover the carbs you're about to eat. I don't see where that is factored into the equation. I usually don't bother to bolus unless it comes out to 4 or 5 units. YMMV.

Tribbles

Tribbles

• Seniors
  • 1,936 posts
It looks like he is just having you correct after the fact. I think that he has you on an I:C carb ratio of 5 if you were carb counting.

forty_caliber

forty_caliber

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

What it looks like to me is, he's helping you to determine the correction factor of your bolus. That's fine and should help with better control, but the other part of the bolus is to cover the carbs you're about to eat. I don't see where that is factored into the equation. I usually don't bother to bolus unless it comes out to 4 or 5 units. YMMV.