- - - - - keytones

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

hkcool

hkcool

• 500 plus
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Got a quick call today from my doctor since I had a routine physical and got bloodwork and urine tests done.

He said everything was normal except for really low vitamin D levels and oddly enough, ketones in my urine. He explained that typically it's a sign of uncontrolled diabetes but my blood sugar is fine. He ordered an a1c done at the time that I got all of my bloodwork done just to be thorough. I don't have the results in front of me but I could request a hard copy of them. Anyway, he assured me that I'm not diabetic.

I'm a 20 y/o college student.

Is ketones in the urine a precursor to diabetes? I did read that fasting or starvation can lead to temporary high ketone levels. As a full-time college student, let's just say that my sleeping schedule is rather...irregular. I had to fast for the blood test that morning so my last meal was dinner that evening. I didn't sleep until 7 am that morning and my appointment was at 9 am, so...yeah...

The doctor said the next step would be a 24 hr urine test since they double-checked my results to make sure I actually had ketones in my urine and I did. But he also said there's no rush at all. I can't get the test till I'm actually back home so I'm just wondering now what it could be

labrat

labrat

• 500 plus
  • 211 posts
Did you know the volume of ketones in your urine? Was it slight or high?
Slight to moderate ketones can occur with exercise. Did you work out or do some strenuous physical activity before your appointment?
People on low carbohydrate diets go into ketosis (usually preferably). These are things to consider if your testing does rule out Diabetes.
Plus, this was a one time test. Without other symptoms or clinical presentations to preclude a diagnosis, it may be easier to simply repeat a urine sample next time, too. Shouldn't need to be a fasting sample, either.