- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

Goldrun

Goldrun

• Members
  • 116 posts
Hi everyone!
I use Novolog to bolus, and just noticed that my box of pens has an expiration of 3/2006. I still have 3 pens left! So, does anyone know how long the meds are actually good for, or should I scrap these and get a new prescription?

I'm relatively new to the bolus scene (since late January when I transitioned from 70/30 to Lantus/ Novolog), but my control has been pretty good over the past month with this Novolog...so, does it make sense that I use it until I can't keep regulated between meals?

thanks for any help!

rzrbks

rzrbks

• Seniors
  • 4,673 posts
  • LocationHogwarts, Hobbiton, Galactic Milieu
  • I am a:Type 1.5
I would use them until you notice that your #s are getting higher than you expect them to be. That is as long as you've kept them stored in the fridge.

But then, I'm known for being cheap. I even used my Lantus 4 days to 2 weeks past it's "Proper Time." I just kept a Very Close eye on the #s.

The standard "Acceptable" plan is to pitch it once it's expired.

Also, when you went through Insulin school they should have warned you to always check the expiration date of your insulin so that it wouldn't expire on you.
"I am wounded," he said, "wounded, and it will never heal."

Frodo to Samwise

Goldrun

Goldrun

• Members
  • 116 posts
Insulin School???
That would have been nice!
I think I'll do what you suggest--it's always good to have a second opinion!
thanks...and by the way, I love your quote....I always notice your replies because of it!

sbuff28@charter

sbuff28@charter

• Members
  • 306 posts
I was told that if you refridgerate almost all insulin its good for a couple years at least, once its out of the frig to discard after a max of 2 months...usually 1 month

i would keep them in the fridge, never know if you might need them someday
Type 1
23 years old
Diagnosed Jan 5,06

:ridinghor :eviltongu :cheers: :beer: