Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

kimfly

Metformin vs. Amaryl

18 posts in this topic

I am taking Metformin and Amaryl.

I heard that Metformin was only to be taken at night as it deals mainly with kidneys. Is this true?

Can the two be taken together?

i dont know anything about Amaryl at all (infact ive not heard of it) but i take metformin...

i take it 3 times a day, breakfast, dinner and evening meal... ive never heard of taking it at night, infact i was told to always take it with food... but im no expert so i dunno!

I take metformin twice a day, breakfast and evening meal. I was told to take it with meals it also says on the packet it comes in, Take this medicine with or after food. I have never heard of it to be taken at night.

Same here, I dont take Amaryl and have never heard of it. So I dont know if they can be taken together.

Dear kimfly

I think metformin can also be taken twice a day. There is some good information is available on this page. There is a link about the middle of the page which reads More details on diabetic drugs. This link contains information about diabetic drugs. Hope this will help

http://www.medicineworld.org/medicine/endocrinology/type2diabetes.html

Regards,

Betsy

Hey Kimfly, For the last two months, I've taken metformin and Amaryl together, metformin at breakfast and dinner, Amaryl at breakfast. I've had no problems or side effects taking both at the same time.

Kimfly, I've taken Metformin and Amaryl since Feb.2004 together,

Metformin 500mg and Amaryl 1mg at breakfast and Metformin 500mg at dinner, I have had no problems or side effects taking both at the

same time.

Steve

New Jersey

I take Avandamet, (which contains 1000mg of Metformin and 4mg of Avandia) and Amaryl 1mg after breakfast and again after dinner. I've had no side effects from the combination of the two. Doctor just said to take them after eating a meal.

Timeless