Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cindel

Can't afford the test strips

25 posts in this topic

Hi, This is my first time posting...I was recently told that I needed to check my blood sugars in the morning. I was giving a Freestyle Flash meter from my doctor. Problem is, insurance will NOT cover the test strips or the lancets. I can't afford to buy the the test strips. The pharmacist told me about a program that some drug reps have called co-pay. Does anyone know about this? From what I gather, the co-pay card takes off a certain amount of money from the cost of the test strips.

How do you contact the drug reps to get one of these???? I'm just getting overwhelmed and not sure what to do. I've only got 6 strips left that came with my meter. Is there a place online to buy these at a reasonable cost?

I know I have to change my diet but where does one start?

Thank you

~cindel

Hi Cindel. My daughter got free medication for a short time, the pharmacist gave us lists of names to apply to. I do not know if they do the same for testing supplies, but you should ask. I hope you get it worked out soon. Maybe you can get your doctor to give you more samples until you find more help.

Hi cindel,

I know what you mean. I don't have insurance at all right now and because I'm working for myself. I can't get insured because I'm a high risk, geeess! I've never heard about the co-pay plan thing so I'll be watching this post but if you need to buy I found American Diabetes Wholesale online has pretty good prices.

Good Luck...and Welcome!

Walmart sells a meter (under $10) that the strips are about $22/50 to go in it. The brand name is "ReliOn". I think it's about as cheap as you will find just shopping regular.

My insurance does cover my strips, but I like to test "a lot". I have bought strips for my One Touch Ultra for around $50/100 from eBay in the past.