Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Delphinus

- Lantus Vs Humulin N -

10 posts in this topic

I have only ever used Humulin N(NPH) for my basal insulin, and I use approximately 50-60 units a day.

If using Lantus, in your experience, would the usage units be similar?

I guess it varies from person to person, but I am wondering, typically, if it would go up or down.

I know NPH insulins don't last as long, and they have a peak, but I am wondering how much of a difference it would make.

Of course there is cost.

If I am using less Lantus, even tho it costs more, I may same a few clams.

If I am using less Lantus, even tho it costs more, I may same a few clams.

Saving clams is a good effort.

It seems that the general impression that I recall from persons here on DF who have used NPH is that it is an old fashoned basal and that lantus / levemir is the new tech in terms of basal insulin. I have no experience with NPH.

May I piggyback onto your thread? I would also like to hear from those that know, what difference there was between lente and NPH. I used lente as my only insulin for 30 years. Another person that I worked with 35 years ago was using NPH, I believe. Maybe that person was using NPH and Regular? I always thought it might be nice to use lente and have regular for some quick fix, but never did that. Is today's humalog similar in use and effect to regular? I guess I will google lente to see how it was supposed to be used. I know several years ago here at DF, others told me that lente was not to be used the way I used it - oh, well.

Saving clams is a good effort.

It seems that the general impression that I recall from persons here on DF who have used NPH is that it is an old fashoned basal and that lantus / levemir is the new tech in terms of basal insulin. I have no experience with NPH.