Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kona0197

I'm super worried...

25 posts in this topic

So I've been having a LOT of issues with both my A1C and blood sugar levels. I was diagnosed with type 2 a few years ago, and I went from a A1C of almost 15 down to a 4.9 in about three months thanks to a lot of persistent and regular exercise along with eating right. I was doing so well that I was taken off my insulin. I've managed to have an A1C of 4.5 to 5.9 these last few years. Problem is the last few months. The A1C has jumped to 9. I've been back on my insulin. I'm still exercising. I'm eating as well as can be expected, I am a manager at a local fast food place so I get free meals there, and I mostly eat low carb chicken offerings or a salad. What has me on edge is my blood sugar levels. They used to be anywhere from 90 to 160. Now they are anywhere from 250 to 425. And it seems I am more thirsty all the time and have to use the bathroom like every hour.

I am a bit scared, I was curious what everyone thinks. I can't get in to see my Doc till next month, and this is not quite emergency room or urgent care stuff. I just don't want to lose my legs or have my kidneys explode cuz they are working too hard. I'll be damned if this is the way I go out, lol. 

Thanks in advance. 

Few questions to help with people giving you ideas/answers..

Are you taking basal or bolus insulin?  How long has this been going on?

A basal insulin which is what most T2's seem to take really does very little to help bring down spikes like that.  You really need a bolus insulin to bring it down quickly.  If this is only a few days, I'd point to sickness or some short term issue that should clear up.  If its been a couple weeks then I would get myself some bolus insulin ASAP.

macksvicky and funkynassau like this