Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rzrbks

Injecting through clothes

rzrbks

I use and InDuo(basically a type of pen) with 31g 0.25 inch = 6.35 millimeter needles and almost always when I inject through my clothes, I run hyper. Instead of the expected 85/4.7 - 100/5.5 I tend to be in the 115/6.3 range.

Could it simply be the fact of injecting through shirt or is there some trick?

I do leave the needle in a bit longer than normal, just to be on the safe side.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Mick

I've been injecting thru clothing for many many years. I use even smaller needles--the 6mm ones. I've never noted any difference in readings--but your readings look fine to me--certainly within the + or -10% margin of error of our meters--in which a reading of 100 (to use an easy number) COULD actually be as low as 90 or as high as 110, a range of error of 20 points at that level. Lighten up and enjoy your excellent control!

Michael

T1 41 years

rzrbks

OK, I see--------you're both saying that something is wrong with me, that I'm a Freak well Thbbptt (quoting Bill the Cat)

Actually, being TypeA/ Anal I Have to have it Exactly So Right Now------drives my wife and friends nuts.

Plus reading all the posts over the years, most people have no trouble when shooting through their clothes---so why am I the oddball exception?

Well, the Welsh have always been known as being under a cloud, as well as the Polish and the Belgians. I can claim connection to all three, plus about 44-45 others.

Keezheekoni

I've never injected through my clothes... I've had glucagon through clothes, but not my insulin. I'm not any help to anybody today! LOL

corwin