Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Katrina Stovold

Type 1 Diabetes And Breast Implants

Katrina Stovold

Hi, Just wondering if anyone has had breast implants and is a type 1 diabetic, I have been considering this procedure for many many years but am concerned about complications as a result of having breast implants as I am a type 1 diabetic. Ie: things such as infection and general anasthetic concerns me. Also, since I am a type 1 diabetic then I am prone to develop other autoimmune diseases, apparently silicone cohesive gel implants may cause autoimmune diseases, but today is considered a myth. Just want to know if there are any type 1 diabetics out there that can recommend me going ahead with the procedure or even other doctors can recommend I go ahead. I have asked my surgeon about the issues of being a type 1 diabetic and he did say that bacteria loves sugar and this scared me but he did say that he will keep me extra cacooned during the procedure and load me up with antibiotics!! Thanks in advance. Katrina.

JediSkipdogg

Take this as you may...the thing I'd be more worried about is the scar from where they insert the implant at healing properly. The most common problem with diabetics and surgery is the scar fully healing. That would be my only concern besides the normal worries of infections.

Jan B

Katrina,

First, remember, we are NOT all the same. If I were you, I would think long and hard before going through with an "optional" major surgery.