Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jillrapp

Depression and Diabetes

Do you have experience with Depression?  

60 members have voted

1. 1. Do you have experience with Depression?

• I have had some experience with Depression within the last 10 years
    • I am currently being treated for Depression
    • I am not currently being treated for Depression but I may need help
    • Me? No Way! It's all Good!

jillrapp

I have been involved in quite a few discussions lately about the relationship between Depression and Diabetes. I've often heard that it's very common for someone with a chronic disease to become depressed. I also toy with the idea that a chemical imbalance (often sited for depression) may have something in common with a metabolic imbalance. Whatever the cause I'm interested to see what the real numbers might be like regarding how many of us actually do battle some type or amount of depression.

I appreciate if you may only want to answer the poll question, however, any comments posted are also welcomed!

Thank you!

davef

Jill,

Interesting post. To be honest I'm not sure how to vote and the reason is that it comes down to how to define "depressed". I can certainly say that since being DX'ed (and especially right after DX) I have felt down. I did not feel low enough and it didn't go on for long enough for me to seek medical help.

So I can't say I have been depressed and certainly I don't believe I was clinically depressed but I have felt down (in a funk) and it has taken a few days to pull out of the feeling. It hasn't happened for a while but it has happened.

Not sure if I have really answered or just muddied the water, but I think this thread will make interesting reading.

lgvincent