Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tony

Exercise Program?

Tony

What is everyones EXERCISE PROGRAM?

I'm not exercising now or ever, so that is why I'm asking, because i need to.

Mick

I have a treadmill and recumbant bike in the basement. 3 times a week I do 3 20-minute rotations, from the treadmill to the bike, to stair-stepping with free weights, for an hour. I tend to run, not walk, between 4.5-5 mph, up at least a 10% grade, so I'll cover maybe 1.5 miles in the 20 min. My cycling is against a fairly heavy resistance, and I'll cover 4.5-5 miles in the 20 min., going about 12 mph. I use 5 lb weights and step to pretty fast music, doing arm curls and extensions the whole time. In the summer, I'll go outside and run maybe 5 miles in an hour 10 min, or cycle 15-20 miles in about the same amount of time. I find that listening to music the whole time is a good way to keep going. I wear a heart monitor while I exercise, because having had a heart attack several years ago, I need to meet certain cardiac output goals. I sometimes will wake up at 5am and exercise before work (like 5:15-6:15) but more often I do it after work. I usually do a workout one day on the weekend as well. I always test before and after. I have been doing this routine for several years, and find that my weight is way down and staying there, my endurance is way up--beyond what I could do as a teenager, my body fat index is below 10%, and my cardiac efficiancy is close to 100%. I can't say it does much for my diabetes directly, except help to mess up my sugar levels for a while afterwards!

Michael

Alysse404