Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

katievwal8t

Pregnant a year after a miscarriage

katievwal8t

Hi everyone. I just found out that I'm about 6 weeks pregnant. I was diagnosed with type 1 last january. This was an oopseybaby but we are excited. However, I am absolutely terrified because I had a miscarriage back in january because I didn't know I had diabetes. I have had pretty good control since then but I am not on a pump. I use pens and a OneTouch meter. Am I doomed? I don't know where to start. I meet my OB later this week and my endocrinologist next week. I am new to this tight control and I feel like I'm going to fail. Any advice? Thanks everyone!

<3 Katie

genie86333

Hi, Katie.

First off, Breathe!!!!!!! Stress isn't good for the baby or you.

Secondly, congratulations!

Last, you said your control has been good. That's wonderful! Expect it to fluctuate throughout the pregnancy, but don't feel like you're doomed! I had gestational diabetes (totally uncontrolled because the docs didn't do *anything* about it - no at-home testing, no meds, no advice about my diet, etc.) for 2 pregnancies & both babies were fine, even though they were big. I'd hate to see what my A1C was, but I'm sure it was very high.

Do what you can to keep good control, but remember that many babies do make it thru just fine with total lack of control, so a day here or there of poor control doesn't automatically mean doom.

Belle'sMama