Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bigskygal

Type 1.5 and Hypoglycemia?

bigskygal

I'm new to this and don't have an official diagnosis as yet. I suspect I'm in the very beginning stages of LADA because I don't have any risk factors for type 2 but I do have two other autoimmune diseases, hyperthyroidism and psoriasis.

Anyway, one thing I've read about the beginning stages of diabetes is that you often have low rather than high blood sugars. But this has never happened to me. I can have a big spike (high 200's) after a high carb meal, but I don't go low afterwards. I've never seen a number below 80 on my meter and I don't think I've ever felt the symptoms of hypoglycemia.

In others' experience, is hypoglycemia more of a type 2 issue or is it something I should look forward to :o as the disease progresses?

Thanks for the input.

Kim

bigskygal

I've thought about MODY as a possibility, but ruled it out because I recently went through a pregnancy (my son was born about 3 years ago) with absolutely no abnormal blood sugars and apparently MODY tends to be diagnosed during pregnancy. Good information on MODY is scarce however, so maybe there are forms that aren't provoked by pregnancy, or only show up afterwards that I haven't found information on.

THanks,

Kim

jswede1149

Are you just hyper or do you have Graves? I am experiencing a host of problems with my thyroid. I just went through a hyper in the last week. I am patiently waiting to get in to my new Endo to get an official diagnosis and meds. I can't take many more of these hyper hormone dumps