Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dkyle

Starting Bolus insulin and feeling pretty overwhelmed

dkyle

All,

I was Diagnosed as a type 2 in 2007, got under control and off all meds in a couple of months but have gone back and forth between a1c or 6 and 8.5 a few times now.

I started taking Lantus last spring ( i did not want to take the actos my Dr suggested ) so we settled on Basal therapy, i also take 2000mg Met each day

I have been doing very poorly with my control for 4 - 5 months and finally went to see my dr and I am back to 8.5 and starting Bolus Insulin. On one hand I think this will be good for me as I have been trying to cover post meal spikes with Basal and Thus going Quite low at times and not covering the spikes very well either

I have been using as much as 200 units of Lantus per day and can see PP BGs of 200 or more ( I have gone as low as 62 )

Basically I feel I am totaly out of control right now and it seems like I have little or no natural insulin response to anything i eat - Very frustrating!

I am working out most every day ( weights, walking, eliptical, Bike ) and that has helped improve my IR, but i honestly can not predict how high any given meal will take me. I might have a couple of days or reasonable numbers but then i am off to the peaks again.

I had a c-peptide and GAD test a couple of years ago and they cam back normal, but it seems like this is awfull quick to have lost all my Beta cell function, yet that seems like the neighborhood I am in

Any thoughts or any help for someone starting Bolus for life??

It looks like I will be on Humalog, but I have to go to the Diabetes educator first, which is tomorrow

Don

Bountyman