Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

WantHealth

need help/insight/suggestions with my low carb lifestyle

WantHealth

Hello folks,

I've been low-carbing for a few months now. The past 2 months I've been very low -- shooting for less than 35 g per day.

In the beginning, this diet was reasonably easy. I was excited to eat so many foods that I had been avoiding for years. Suddenly scrambled eggs and bacon were a treat! Baby back ribs were something to look forward to...avocados...cheese...nuts...butter...roasted chicken with skin....it was all so wonderful at the start.

But suddenly, the past 2 weeks, all my food choices seem intolerable. I literally feel nauseous at the though of eating another piece of meat or cheese and I haven't been able to eat eggs for about 1 month. I know I need to eat more vegetables so I have been including more in my diet. I've enjoyed a lot of asparagus, cauliflower, broccoli, zucchini and salads lately. Inceasing my veggie intake has helped a little bit.

I'm wondering (hoping/praying) if this is a normal phase that will soon pass? I literally don't want to eat much anymore and it's slowing my metabolism. It's not that I'm craving carbs; because I really don't want to eat something really carby or sugary but I have needed to have Atkins protein shakes for breakfast because I need the sugary taste and can't fathom a bacon/eggs type breakfast these days.

Anyway, just looking for advice or some sort of solidarity. Is this a normal reaction after about 2 months on a high protein/fat - low carb diet?