Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

littlebuddy

How do you tell your children...

littlebuddy

Hey,

I am a kindergarten teacher in Taiwan I am a person with diabetes and one of my students is, too. His mother is really greatful to me because I check his sugars twice a day at school. The thing is I'm not sure how to explain to him that there are certain things he can't have. Today we celebrated Thanksgiving at our school and all the parents brought food in for the kids. One Mom brought a boatload of little cakes and cookies. Naturally this little boy wanted some and my we decided to give him some, it's so hard to say "No," to a kid who just doesn't understand. At any rate after nap he woke and I tested him his BG was 428mg/dl. I then told him that at snack time he can only have a little bit of food and he seemed sad because everyone could have more than him.

He is 6 years old now and I want to teach him to test by himself and may be interpret the results. Next year he will be going to elementary school and I worry about that because he may not get the attention that he needs.

Any tips on how other parents explained this to their children would be appreciated.

littlebuddy

liz32