Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Gsp

How long are you managing without Medication

Gsp

Hi all

I am new with type 2. My A1c was 8 when diagnosed 2 months before.I am 35 , started on low carb diet , exercise and testing my bs more frequently .I could keep the BS range normal with out medication.Just like to know how long average one can control BS with low carb diet ,exercise and without medication ?

Thanks everyone

gsp

apollo322

I wish we could tell you but, sadly, this disease is just not that linear. It could be many years or it could be never, it all depends on how much pancreatic function you have left. I'm coming up on my first anniversary now.

mjrc64

I have been doing it for about 2.5 years.

I also lost 50 pounds, as well as changed my diet to moderate carbs. I think, for me, the excess weight contributed greatly to insulin resistance, as I can eat things now that would have spiked me at diagnosis.

jwags

There is no one answer to this. My HbA1c started out higher thsn yours. I am guessing there was probably a lot of damage done during pre D. I went 3 months and asked for metformin. But I have an overactive liver thst dumps glucose all the time. If you can get great bgs without medication, you may be able to go many years. Everybody's diabetes is so different.

clebo

I'm not sure what the time period is ,but I've done it for over 2 years now and have gotten into this lifestyle change that I can't see it changing any time soon. I figure I'm going to die of something that is not diabetic related.:D

Seagal

I've been at it almost nine years and the low carb lifestyle works for me. It depends on pancreatic function and each of us is different.

mjrc64