Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ScaredofLADA

Should I be scared of LADA?

ScaredofLADA

Hello, my name is Tim and I am a 21 y/o college student living in NJ.

So I have a great deal of anxiety and stress when it comes to medical issues and I want to hear anyone's opinion on my situation. It would be much appreciated.

When I was 18 I had a blood test done, Normal Tri., Cholesterol, and a Fasting Blood Glucose of 81 mg/dl. - August 11 2010

At this time I was about 165 lbs, 5'6".

Over the following year I went up to 197 lbs (March 2011). Then I went on a super low calorie diet and dropped all the way to 145 lbs (August 2012). I then got diagnosed with a rare chronic daily headache called "New Daily Persistent Headache". It caused me a lot of stress and in a month I gained back about 5 lbs and was on a low dose of prednisone twice in an attempt to treat it. Still at a bmi within normal range.

I had another blood test that tried to hit a lot of potential etiologies for my NDPH. All my blood platelets, white blood cell/ metabolic panel ANA, CRP, Etc were all normal/Negative. Triglycerides were 125, Total Cholesterol was 174. Fasting Blood Glucose was 94 mg/dl? (September 2012).

Now I consulted two doctors who said my glucose was normal just because it was in normal range of 65-99 but yet I know people who have BMI's of 33, and older than me but with FBG of 87. It doesn't make sense to me.

So I had an a1c test performed June 2013 which the result came back at 5.4% which is still in the normal range of 4%-5.6% but again at the higher end of it.