Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

JES0307

Issues with my insulin pump

JES0307

Hi! This is my first time posting, and I am hoping someone can help me or give me advice, or just tell me that this has happened to them. I am currently 9 weeks pregnant and having major issues with my pump sites. I am rotating my sites between both of my legs and my butt. I find that in the last 2 weeks, ranging from an hour to 1 day, that I am getting no delivery on my pump when it is attached to me. After removing the site, blood pours out, but the cannula is not bent at all. Before pregnancy, this would happen here and there which I know is normal, but now this is happening and I am changing my sites 5-6 times a day on some days. It is extremely frustrating because I am working so hard to keep my blood sugars under tight control. I am also currently wearing the Dexcom G4 plus sensor and have been able to catch all of my blood sugars before rising. With the sensor, I am having no issues with the sites which I rotate on each side of my stomach once a week. I reached out to my OB who said it is normal for a pregnant woman to have excess blood in the first trimester but did not know anything on the diabetes side. I reached out to my endo and to Minimed and they have never heard of this issues before. I am seeing my high risk dr in a few weeks but wanted to see if anyone has heard of this issue or had it happen to them. PLEASE HELP!!!!

I have a Minimed Paradigm and using Quick set 9mm sets.

Thank you all in advance!!!!!

-Esther S

Lady Imp