Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

MrsFrenchy

Planning first pregnancy

MrsFrenchy

Hi everyone, it's my first time commenting on here but over the last weekish I've been reading heaps of threads and have found them very insightful and helpful. I just want to share my story/plans with you all to see if there are any more suggestions I can add to my list of goals/steps before we start trying for our first baby. So here it is!

I'm 25 and have been type 1 since I was 10, honestly I have poor control, my a1c's have been in the 9's for quite a while and it hasn't been near 7% in many years. I have always struggled with being diabetic because of not getting good control when I was a kid. I always wanted to keep up with my brothers so I'd skip tests and injections. I'm on a pump now as injections are no longer possible for me because they create very bad bruising. I've been on the pump about 12yrs, and I know my a1c should be a lot better by now :( We would like to have our first baby in 2017 so I am starting perpetration now. I have been working really hard in the last few weeks to test more regularly, I was only testing about 4 times a day before. I'm up to 6 definite tests and am increasing this, especially if my sugar is in the teens. I've been using an optimum exceed meter but will be using the mobile meter for work as I find it easier and I'm hoping this will help in checking my sugars more regularly/consistently will I'm working. My aim is to test every 1-2 hours when I'm awake and then whenever I get up at night, which is usually 3am.