Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Shackhelp

Kidney Stones, Anxiety Meds, Metformin . . . oh My!

Shackhelp

First time member, first time poster!! 

Just a heads up, I weigh 297lbs, 5'7", 38 years old. No children.

It's been one heck of a year for me! This is my first year teaching elementary school. At Thanksgiving break I fell ill and discovered I had a 1.5cm stone stuck in my left kidney. After four months of pain meds and two surgeries I finaly got that handled.

Shortly after this, I discovered that my Zoloft wasn't helping me anymore. I started having panic episodes where I'd freeze up, go nuts talking 90mph, then burst into tears. Trip to the doctor and he did blood-work then took me off of my Zoloft. Put me on Brintellix. I took it for a week and the doctor's office asked me to come in for a repeat blood-draw.  Nurse called a few days later to say that I've developed diabetes (I've been pre-diabetic off and on for years) and need to come in.

I've been very tired and lethargic. I do eat poorly, but I eat lots of veggies and stuff and thought I was at least half-assed managing. I didn't anticipate this at all.

Follow up yesterday - Doctor says I have type II diabetes. Says my AC1 was a 6.6 and while that was really low, he had just diagnosed my mother with type II and to be proactive he wanted to put me on Metaformin 500mg 2x a day with food. Said that if I took this seriously I might lose some weight (which I believe with the nausea and diarrhea!)