Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

type1mama

Hi, Type 1 Mom of a 15 year old

type1mama

Hello

This is my first time on a forum. We are in month 9 of the "honeymoon" period (I hate that word), no medications. He also has Hashimotos, no medications.  His A1C last was 6.1.  We are working with a team of healers (endocrinologist, two chiropractors, a nutritionist and a whole food dietitian) and are stabilizing my son with diet (Paleo/AIP) and supplements. He is also Rolfing, having regular Chiropractic Care, using Essential Oils with aromatherapy and Oil Pulling. We are working tirelessly to stopping his antibodies from attacking his pancreas and thyroid. So far, so good. 

I cook for a living and firmly believe that healing can happen with nutrition. But I am very alone with this thinking regarding Type 1. I am looking for like minded folks.

Today I am trying to understand emotions and blood sugar numbers and how they go together. My son is experiencing stress with finals and a bit of PTSD from an anniversary of tragedy date upon us. His numbers have been high for three days now with sudden drops after eating. As we have found with using food as insulin, we must take action immediately to stabilize. And I'm just not sure which action to take. Other than emotions, there hasn't been too many changes. He was using Stevia everyday so I just today stopped that. Just to see. He also was trying a new mint that is essential oils and molasses. I asked him to stop this today just in case. I am scared and tired of hearing "oh, the honeymoon period is ending". This has happened a couple times now and we have always been able to find the cause. 

Thank you for your time. 

Cora