Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

predb4

vegan atkins

predb4

A local private hospital has weekly healthy tips during the news broadcasts.

The announcer is a journalist by profession who trained as a dietician following bariatric surgery.  She has kept the weight off for nearly ten years.

Anyway, this week the subject was the atkins diet, so I tuned in.

She said the Atkins diet promoted weight loss and bettered blood pressure and cholesterol.  But had cardiologist "in a tizzy" (quote is exact words) because of the protein.

So Scientists conducted a study.  Some people were give a low fat diet and others the atkins diet where people got their protein from plants.

The first group lost weight but there was not difference in bp and cholesterol.  The atkins group lost weight , had better blood pressure and cholesterol.

This, according to her, proves that atkins is a good diet, provided the protein comes from plant sources.

Well, Let me try that.  I need 4 cups of black beans to eat 60g of protein, but that also gives 160g of carbohydrates.  It will be me and the cows causing all this climate change.

kooka

Lol. I tried it. Beans raised my sugar. Could't eat tofu because I'm on thyroid meds. No soy either and almost all vegan products have soy or beans. Same old same old. Drug companies do not want to lose us as customers and there are lots of us.

jwags

I can handle about 1/2 cup of beans and that is it. It is tough doing a vegan diet and sticking to Low Carb. It has to be mostly green veggies and tofu.

miketurco