Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Deeaye

Can you take both levimir and humulin N?

Deeaye

Blood sugar keeps increasing into the 500's and I'm taking bothe levimir (U-100) and Humulin N NPH U-100.

Uff Da

That is not a normal combination. Levemir is a long-acting and Humulin N is an intermediate acting. If one were combining Levemir with an old time insulin, it would be more common to combine it with Humulin R, which is "regular". That's what used to be used as a meal time insulin before the modern analog ones. Humulin R is faster than H, but not as fast as the more recent Humalog, Novolog or Apidra.

Note, I am not a doctor nor am I advising you to do this. But I've read of others on this or other diabetic boards who have done it because they couldn't afford the modern fast-acting insulin.

Are you in the USA or elsewhere? Sometimes different insulins are available or are known by a different name in other countries.

NoraWI

Are you under a doctor's care? Levemir is a prescription only insulin. N is not. The R that Uff Dah refers to is over the counter as well. I hope you are consulting a doctor. Insulin is a potent hormone and should not be taken without guidance.

Cora

Why would you be taking those two together? it makes no sense. Levemir is a basal insulin and N is what we used to use as basal (2 shots per day). As Uff Da said, if you are looking for a non-prescription insulin to take to use as a bolus, then R (regular) would be your best bet.

miketurco