Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kittyluvr400

Testing high

Kittyluvr400

I'm new to this and am considered pre diabetic. Just wondering if anyone feels physically differently when your numbers are high. Nausea, jittery, just feel like ick. I figure if a drop in sugar can make someone not feel well, do people notice when they spike as well?

JohnSchroeder

Most definitely.  The most common symptom is fatigue.  I actually find it difficult to describe how I feel beyond that.  I can feel a difference in my eyes, and just in my body in general.

Nausea... if you are super high maybe.  Like 300 or 400+.  I don't personally relate to jittery when high, but I suppose some might.  Definitely ick.

Kittyluvr400

I'm trying to figure out if it's the high heat right now that has me a bit off. I am noticing fatigue, but it could just be the sun and 90's outside. Wouldn't you feel fatigue due to lack of carbs? I was always led to believe low carbs can make you rather weak and tired.

I have so much to learn. It's fine researching diabetes online, but I always found forums to give me the 'real answers'...not articles written by doctors. I let the articles guide me, but I need to hear from those actually experiencing it.

My mom has diabetes brought on later in life. She does not check her sugar and although she knows it's bad for her, she tends to blow it off. This morning she had two slices of toast with butter and an hour later she was in the 250 bg range. I woke up this morning after the usual all night fast and I am again, in the 180's.

I also have a problem (problem for me) not eating a snack between meals. In order for me to get those accurate readings I have to refrain from eating anything between meals, since I need to check my meter.