Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BVick56

24 yr Old Male Type 1 having loss of motivation and feeling constantly tired

BVick56

Hey everyone im new to this i usually look to solve the problem on my own but im having a hard time getting the motivation or even having the energy to get to my laptop which i finally did. 

So it started about 5 months ago I got into this very weird state, Im a guy who goes to the gym six days a week is ok with controlling my sugar levels and have no problems. But suddenly out of no where I have no energy i sleep until noon or one o'clock it takes me forever to actually get going. I've been in contact with my Doctor my A1C is 8.7 so im just trying to get some hints or help on what i can do to get my motivation and energy back. 

dowling gram

Have your doctor check your thyroid. Many times that kind of tiredness is because of thyroid problems. When you cut carbs did you also increase your good fats. Glucose is your energy source and if you cut back on carbs you are depleting your energy source. When the body does not have glucose for energy it switches to fat burning for energy. Adding fat to your diet gives your body something to run on.

As for motivation to eat low carb, the biggest motivator is a knowledge of the complications of diabetes if you don't keep your glucose in line. I don't know about you but I'm partial to my legs, fingers, kidneys and eyesight. I also don't want heart problems. Out of control diabetes effects every part of your body. I had a couple of relatives who had severe complications and I kept their photos on my fridge to remind me of what could happen. If you don't have that you could get some graphic photos and put then where you can see them every day.

JohnSchroeder