Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Fraser

Web MD- can pre diabetes be reversed?

Fraser

Here we go again reversing a diabetes condition. My opinion we should drop the pre duabetes term . It is still diabetes just early stage. The article offers all the same solutions as t-2. Weight, diet exercise stop smoking, sleep etc. check out on web MD sorry I am not good at adding links.

I have no idea what information this article would give to someone who was dx as "pre diabetic."

Minor rant.

CandaceV

My doctor told me at one point relating to another issue, that WebMD is run by big Pharma.  I took his word on it, didn't investigate.  Might be true, might not be.

The only way my diabetes stays in "reverse" is if I eat 20 grams of carbs a day and exercise. 

Fraser

I am more concerned with the message, again, that something is reversible.

Even Dr. Berstein makes money from his books etc.

And for those who use the term "big pharm" in a negative context, no one is forcing you to

Take advantage of the research they do and the medicines they produce. ;-)

CandaceV

I have taken antibiotics in the past, which probably saved my life more than once, for strep infections, one in my throat, one in my foot, which was very close to amputation.  So antibiotics saved my foot, and my heart valves.  I do my best not to take drugs because of side effects and dangerous allergies.

I am curious if there are any studies which prove diabetes has been reversed.  For example, an a1C of 9, losing weight, exercising, cutting carbs.  Then an a1C of 5 for the rest of their life after eating the standard western diet again.