Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

new_user

Totally don't fit the profile

new_user

I am  66 y/o man.  I swim 6 miles a week.  I am and have always been thin.  I never eat processed or sugary foods.  There is no history of diabetes in my family.   By nature I eat healthily.  (I'm a very good cook and make almost all meals from scratch).  I don't even eat much meat.

But not long ago I was diagnosed with prediabetes despite have no, zip, zero, nada risk factors.   

I religiously keep my carb intake to under 225 grams a day yet my A1C still creeps up.  I started on metformin (500mg) two months ago yet my A1C increased from 5.9 to 6.0

This situation totally sucks.

Oddly my blood sugar in the morning is often counter-intuitive.  Lower carb days often result in a 115 - 125.  High carbs days are often yield lower readings the next day.  The other day I had a bowl of cereal (cheerios) at 3:30 am yet my BS at 7:00 was just 107.  Go figure.  It's maddening.   (Perhaps a cortisol rush upon waking is a factor but I get up at the same time and test at about the same time each day.

I'm really not interested in another article telling me to reduce sugary drinks etc.  How I'm gonna get my A1C back down consumes my thoughts. 

Moonpie

If you want to get your A1C down, maybe you can reduce your carbs, many people on here do less than a hundred on a daily basis. Welcome.

meyery2k

Many here have managed their diabetes by reducing overall carbohydrate intake.  Many here consume 50g a day or less of total carbohydrate.  It is possible this might help in your case as well.  Possibly even to the point where Metformin would not be needed.

The carbohydrates that are consumed come mainly from green leafy  and non-root vegetables.  Fat to help curb appetite.