Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Jeapa

Amount of Protein per Meal?

Jeapa

I am new to LCHF eating. Is there a formula of how much protein, fat, and carbs to eat at each meal?

Tonight I am grilling steaks and will be having squash and zucchini cooked in butter with onions. The steaks are about 8oz. Is that too much protein? I wish there was a way to know before I eat it.

My guess is everyone is different and I will just have to test. Thanks. 

mystiquarte

from what I've being told Jeapa the size of protein shouldn't be bigger than your fist or weigh about 115 grams 
{i am a vegan though}

Kit

Everyone's protein needs are different based on body take/makup, activity levels and the kinds of activity involved, whether you are trying to maintain or increase muscle mass, etc.

I personally aim for around 70g per day, which can vary based upon a number of factors.  Amount of protein per meal can also vary upon how I feel, how hungry I am, etc.

I'd normally aim for about 6oz of a steak if its a fatty cut.

I've got a great recipe making a steak sauce from the pan droppings, some HWC, and a splash or whiskey or similar.  Now I wish I had some steak.  :)

Jeapa

ok thank you. I think 8oz was probably a bit much based on grams of protein, I am going to test at 2 hours post and see where I am at.

I am very happy to report that my pre-meal BG was 118!!!! I haven't been that low for a long time.

I need to start a log book and keep track of these things so I will have a reference.

Jeapa

Everyone's protein needs are different based on body take/makup, activity levels and the kinds of activity involved, whether you are trying to maintain or increase muscle mass, etc.