Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

js905

A really basic question

js905

You will probably be able to figure out I'm new to pre-diabetes from my question...

Where do you test when out for the day?  No car, away from a hotel room, in a city.

Do you skip testing, use public restrooms (if available), parks, other public spaces?

On a recent vacation I basically tested in the AM, prior to bed, and sometimes after dinner.  My numbers were climbing, it would have been nice to know what specific restaurant meals were doing to me, but  I flat out was uncomfortable testing in public.  

miketurco

I test and take insulin in public. I do it in such a way as to obstruct the view. For example, while sitting at a table or turned away from the crowd. 

samuraiguy

My main goal is to keep people from seeing any blood. There are people, like my sister, who actually become ill at the sight of it so lancing yourself to draw it may make it even more "icky" for them.

NoraWI

I do NOT ever test in public restrooms! You do not want to pierce your skin in such a place. Do as suggested above... discreetly in public.

Dave_KC

Mostly I just test at home, I'll alternate between morning tests, evening tests and I try to get some couple hours after a meal test.

jwags

If you are testing meals then you want to test 1-2 hours after you start the meal. You can test in any public place. I usually have little torn up paper towels in my meter kit that Incannwipe the blood away. Keep a baggie in your meter kit to put used strips. If you do it discreetly people probsbly won't even know what you are doing. Most people shouldn't care anyway, Never do it in a restroom.

Cora