Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jie_m1

Diabetes in Sport

jie_m1

Hi my name is Jason Milligan, I am a student at City of Glasgow College and i'm doing a project on diabetes in sport and I was hoping anyone on this site who has played sport would be willing to answer these questions for me.
How much of an effect do you think diabetes has on sporting performance? Have you been injured and if so do you feel diabetes changes the recovery process compared to athletes without the disease? In reference to injury is there certain medications you’re not able to take during the recovery process because of the disease? What health procedures and precautions do you have to take before, during and after training or competition and do you feel this disadvantages you in any way? How much of an impact have medical advancements made on people with diabetes who want to take part in sport and have you noticed a difference since you started playing sport?
If there's anything else you'd like me to include in the project about your experience in sport feel free to include it.
Also to prevent clogging up the thread feel free to email your answers to jason-milligan@hotmail.co.uk

Bar&In

1. None

2. No

3. No

4. None aside from checking pump and no it doesn't create any disadvantages.

5. Significant impact, for instance CGM's.

Cora