Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

OneHappyGardener

How could this be-A1c dropped fr 6.1 to 5.7-not complaining though!

OneHappyGardener

65 yr old female

5'7"  140 lbs , retired but active -- 4 hours of cardio, strength and yoga exercise once a week and extensive garden/yard work fr early summer to fall (my dirt therapy!)

September 2016 A1c  6.0

January 2017 A1c  6.1.

July 3, 2017 A1c  5.7

I thought that once you were pre-diabetic that it was nearly impossible to reduce A1c by more than .2  ?

The things I have been doing different since January 2017 are:

1)  improved my diet somewhat, drinking more water. 

2)  Added a one-hour long cardio class to my weekly fitness routine (already doing 2 pilates and 1 yoga class) every week)

3)  I did have vein surgery on both legs in March and April in case that matters

4)  I added these supplements to my daily regime of calcium citrate, D4 and a multi-vitamin:

-- ceylon cinnamon 1,000 mg  1 / once a day

-- gymnema sylvestre leaf extract (75% gymnemic acids) 550 mg  2 / once a day

-- magnesium glycinate 400 mg  2 / once a day

-- tumeric with piperine - tumeric (curcuma long) root 1,200 mg, tumeric P.E. 95% curcuminoids 100 mg, piperine 10 mg   2 / once a day

--no new meds...been on pravastatin 10 mg  1 / once a day and armour thyroid 120 mg  1 / once a day for 10 years and both are monitored regularly

Thanks for the feedback!

Fraser

Good work, but all your A1cs are really within the potential error of the lab equipment, so I am not sure why you would be limited to an improvement of 0.2 So keep up the good work. Great job

Other people's thoughts?

Todd G.