Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Loolootype2

New to Type 2 and Metformin 500MG Tab Leg

Loolootype2

Hi, I'm new to having Type 2, my grandmother and aunt had it, my daughter is borderline as well. My clinician put me on 500 mg Metformin TAB LEG, whatever LEG means and whenever I take it as prescribed I drop and feel horrible. Usually wind up asleep and wishing I hadn't taken it. The bad feeling lasts all day. For example a few nights ago my husband decided he wanted to go to Wallyworld at 8 in the evening for some car stuff and a few groceries. I had slept most of the day after taking Metformin that morning and had literally just awoke when he came home. I got up, dressed and drank some water before leaving with him. By the time we went once around the store I was about to drop, sweating profusely and feeling light headed, short of breath. I am a CHF patient and have a defib which was not triggered to my knowledge and I have felt it jump in before.  I sat on a bench after freaking him out and rested until he had checked out. I still felt bad until we stopped and got a cold drink, the sugar put me to rights again. This isn't the only time I've had such an episode, but it was worse than the ones before. I truthfully don't eat much real sugar or carbs, I didn't even finish the soda he bought for me. Does it sound like the dose is too high?  Why, after three weeks am I feeling worse on this medicine than I was without it?
Also, my Clinician only put me on medicine no monitoring etc. Should I be concerned about this? Should I ask about a testing doohickey?  I mean, really I think she's a quack already but I'm stuck for monetary reasons.

Kit