Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  
tkim

Quick Survey - I'd love your help!

tkim

Hi all, my name is Tricia, and I am a fourth year medical student at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (LECOM). My father was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes 15 years ago, and I'm very passionate about diabetes research. I am currently conducting a study on diabetes self-management education programs and barriers to access. If you are over the age of eighteen and have been diagnosed with Type II diabetes, please take a few minutes to complete my survey. The survey will not ask for your name or for any other information that could be used to identify you. I sincerely appreciate your help, time and participation!

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/diabeteseducation2018

By the way, Tony approved this survey.

Kit

I did it, but I have one concern.

Maybe this is just me, but the survey seems to carry the bias that the only way to manage diabetes well is to obediently take all the classes and follow all of the advice.  Except for those who are lucky enough to have doctors and the like who are more up to date on the subject, following those classes is actually a recipe for very bad control, lots of medications, and a really rough time.

The clinic I was referred to only held the classes around mid day during the week.  For one hour every day for 5 days in a row.

The clinic was a little over an hour away from work.  Which would mean I would have to miss 3 hours a day for 5 days in a row in order to take the class.  They also held a 1 5 hour class on a Saturday three times a year.  Thankfully I was diagnosed right after one of those classes.  By the time the next one rolled around I had figured out what I was doing.