Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

J Woz

HgA1C 5.9, BMI 20, active and eat healthy

J Woz

Hi all,

First time posting, just got the diagnosis of prediabetes. I'm a 31 y.o. female that runs 2-3 times a week, walk my dogs 2 miles 2/week, eat vegetables, fruit, lean meat (very seldom do i drink soda,  tea, or eat sweets/breads). I am a nurse so I'm constantly moving at work, very far from a sedentary lifestyle.  I have been having my fasting labs followed for the past two years and my HgA1C came back 5.9, fasting blood sugar 94. My lipids are awesome, HDL 66, LDL 90, triglycerides 41.  My BP 100s/60s. Starting in my 20s, I will say if I wait to long to eat, I do get symptomatic-headache, shaky, fatigued. I do feel tired after a heavy meal-like if I eat pizza and I drink 3+ gallons of water a day. Family history-My mom is a prediabetic, diagnosed at 40, and her brother is a type 2 diabetic on insulin. Any one else have the same presentation?

meyery2k

Welcome!

You might find it helpful to get a meter and some strips.  The Relion meter at Walmart is fine and the strips are relatively inexpensive.

If there is some type of insulin resistance going on, the fasting glucose is usually the last to show it.

Before you eat a meal, test.  Eat.  Test about 90 minutes after you eat, then 2 hours, then 3 hours.  You should be close to where you started at 2 hours.  IF glucose is still elevated and then declines, then that is usually an indicator of insulin resistance.

Some foods like pizza can have a delayed effect due to the fat slowing the absorption of the carbohydrates.

This is how I am broken.  Before I knew this, I presented as a type 2 diabetic.  With diet and exercise, I was able to ditch the Metformin and my labs present as a non-diabetic now.