Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Deborah M

New diagnosis Type II

Deborah M

Hello,

I hope that someone can address my question. 

I was just diagnosed with diabetes, type II, about 6 weeks ago at age 65.

I am a retired R.N., so I have some knowledge of diabetes.  I, however, am confused about one thing.

I have read that the recommended daily intake of sugar should be less than 25 grams.  Does this include natural sugars that are found in fresh vegetables & fruits?  OR does this mean "added sugars" that I am reading about?  I am truly confused about these intake issues.

I am documenting & weighing my food religiously (Fat Secret).  I am able to see the grams of protein, fats, sugars, etc. for each food and a daily compilation of calories and nutrients.  The sugars are not subdivided into natural and added sugars, hence my confusion.

Your attention is greatly appreciated! 😁
Sincerely,
D Matney 

meyery2k

Welcome! - Many here, including me, have found the best means to controlling blood sugar is to eat a minimal amount of carbohydrates in general.  Most of my carbs are from non root vegetables and nuts.

Other than berries, I don't eat too much fruit because it has too many carbs (at least for me).

A low carb high fat diet worked wonders for me.  I lost over 100 pounds.  I also became fit again but that is a tale for another post.

I would encourage you to check out the posts and you can see how many of us were new to this site and then progressed to where we are now.

Many of us here consume less than 50g of carbs a day.

What kind of diet were you following when you were diagnosed?  What are you numbers like?

You might also search "eat to your meter" as this can really unlock how you work and things you can and can't do to keep this in check. ~ Mike

Kit

Hi @Deborah M, welcome to the group.