Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Bookworm

Newbie here

Bookworm

Hi everyone!

Dr called with the gut punch 7 days ago - 1 day before 12 hour drive to visit daughter in Georgia. Knew this might be a possibility due to having Gestational diabetes with our youngest 25 years ago. My knowledge is old, and was on insulin then - so determined to try to stay off meds. Will be learning from y’all, reading the info in the forums and re-learning the limitations/and logging. To add to the diet difficulty- I am lactose intolerant 🙄

I apologize in advance for all the questions in the future. 

Edited by Bookworm
Added

adiantum

Welcome Bookworm, no need to apologize for questions here. 

I too had GD many years before type2 Dx & had been told it mostly takes just 7 years.

Staying off meds is very do-able as I was put on diet & exercise when Dx'd & am still med free 13 years later.

I believe meds are OK if you cant manage with  just diet.

I recomend you go back to counting carbs & at first dont exceed 100g a day but keep in mind that will have to be reduced as time goes by.

You should be fine without dairy just soldier on knowing  your capabilities.

A 12 hour journey... Hmmmm take boiled eggs & nuts to snack on.

will you be eating at restaurants along the way or stopping for picnics & BBQ's?

The best diet to follow is high fat/low carb, so avoid bread., rice,pasta, root vegetbles, most fruits, sodas & candy.

Stay safe & keep posting  as you will be in our thoughts.

Dont you have covid restrictions there?

Here our borders get shut down preventing any  to pass if theres a fresh covid outbreak.

Dowling
1 hour ago, Bookworm said:

Hi everyone!